Offer Them Christ
The Weblog Of J.F. Howard

Five Favorite Quotes From John Wesley

One of the most influential leaders in my life and ministry has been John Wesley. His desire to speak “plain truth for plain people” caught my attention in my college years and has inspired and encouraged me ever since.

Here are five of my favorite examples of Wesley’s “plain truth for plain people.”

1) “I am not afraid that the people called Methodists should ever cease to exist either in Europe or America: but I am afraid lest they should only exist as a dead sect, having the form of religion without power. And this undoubtedly will be the case unless they hold fast both the doctrine, spirit and discipline with which they first set out.”

2) “I look upon all the world as my parish; thus far I mean, that in whatever part of it I am I judge it meet, right and my bounden duty to declare unto all that are wiling to hear, the glad tidings of salvation.”

3) “You have nothing to do but to save souls; therefore spend and be spent in this work.”

4) “Give me one hundred preachers who fear nothing but sin and desire nothing but God, and I care not a straw whether they be clergymen or laymen, such alone will shake the gates of hell and set up the kingdom of Heaven on earth.”

5) “By salvation I mean…a present deliverance from sin; a restoration of the soul to its primitive health, its original purity; a recovery of the divine nature; the renewal of our souls after the image of God.”

No Responses to “Five Favorite Quotes From John Wesley”

Leave a Reply

