Offer Them Christ
The Weblog Of J.F. Howard

“How To Know If I Am Growing Spiritually”

           A statement from Jesus has been on my mind lately: “A disciple is not above his teacher, but everyone when he is fully trained will be like his teacher” (Luke 6:40).

          If I hear Him correctly, Jesus’ goal for His followers, His “disciples,” is to be “like Him.”

          That realization has got me to thinking, “Am I more like Jesus today than I was a year ago?”

          I remember reading an article some time back that asked 10 questions to help keep us focused on our spiritual growth. As I recall, these were those 10 questions:

1. Are you more thirsty for God than ever before?

2. Are you more and more loving?

3. Are you more sensitive to and aware of God than ever before?

4. Are you governed more and more by God’s Word?

5. Are you concerned more and more with the physical and spiritual needs of others?

6. Are you more and more concerned with the Church and the Kingdom of God?

7. Are the disciplines of the Christian life more and more important to you?

8. Are you more and more aware of your sin?

9. Are you more and more willing to forgive others?

10. Are you thinking more and more of heaven and of being with the Lord Jesus?

          What do you think? Based on those questions, “Are you more like Jesus today, than last year?”

          I know when I look at those questions, I know I have a lot of growth ahead! As a matter of fact, I had better get started working on that right now!

          Care to join me?

No Responses to ““How To Know If I Am Growing Spiritually””

Leave a Reply

