Offer Them Christ
The Weblog Of J.F. Howard

WWJHMD

          Do you remember the popular WWJD from a few years back? People by the tens of thousands wore these letters on their wrists in the form of bracelets first created by a church youth group. The letters WWJD stood for “What Would Jesus Do?”

          The idea was to use that question to help people make decisions in life.

           In the year 2009 I would like to submit that I think we need to modify those letters just a bit. Instead of WWJD (What Would Jesus Do?) I’m thinking WWJHMD is more needed today. Those letters stand for “What Would Jesus Have Me Do?”

          When I see the state of the church, the nation, the family, and the economy, I wonder if we are not making decisions based on faulty criteria. It seems too often we make decisions based on convenience, personal desires, the easiest/cheapest route, and the economy. While there is some wisdom in each of those approaches, I suspect they are not the best way to go about making decisions and discerning direction.

          Instead of making our decisions based on questions like:

  • Do I really feel like doing this?
  • How much will it cost? or
  • How hard will it be?

how about if we asked ourselves, “What would Jesus have me do?”

          For most of my life as a pastor I have worked with churches and church leaders to make decisions based on the ministry and direction Jesus is providing the church, rather than what has always been done, or what is the bottom line. There is both an element of faith and faithfulness that is present when we seek God’s leading for our lives and our church in this way.

          One Scripture that has really helped me, comes from the words Jesus spoke to His disciples as He sent them out to do ministry in His name:

6 Go…to the lost sheep of Israel. 7 As you go, proclaim this message: ‘The kingdom of heaven has come near.’ 8 Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse those who have leprosy, drive out demons. Freely you have received, freely give.

    9 “Do not get any gold or silver or copper to take with you in your belts— 10 no bag for the journey or extra shirt or sandals or a staff, for workers are worth their keep.{Matthew 10:6-10}

          What strikes me about this passage is the division of labor between Jesus and His disciples. Jesus clearly gives His disciples the “what to” and says He Himself will provide the “how to.”

          The disciples are to focus on the “going, proclaiming, healing, and giving.” Jesus says they are not to focus on the “providing.” He will take care of that.

          When I first read and understood those verses it lifted a great burden off my shoulders. I saw that Jesus tells us stay focused on the ministry and He will supply the means.

          Someone put it this way: “If it is God’s will, then it is God’s bill.”

          The church today has one of the greatest opportunities to advance the Kingdom of God and demonstrate what it means to live by faith that I have ever witnessed in my life. I am hoping that we will allow faith to triumph over fear and that this will be the year we ask: What Would Jesus Have Me Do?

          Then I hope we just go do it…and trust Jesus to provide the way!

No Responses to “WWJHMD”

Leave a Reply

