Offer Them Christ
The Weblog Of J.F. Howard

Are We Going To Make It This Year?

           So there I sat, on the recliner, in front of the television, watching the latest news report of an economy in recession…at Christmas time of all seasons! You know the headlines I saw—job losses, stock market losses, bailouts, bad mortgages, home foreclosures.

            I honestly asked myself a question that night which applied to me, my family, our nation, and our church:

            “Are we going to make it? Are we going to get through the challenges we face this year (and apparently into next year as well)?

            As I sat there watching the evening news, I had my Bible on my lap. Looking for some good news to balance the bad news of the day, I picked it up and turned to 1 Corinthians 1. There I read these words:

 

 3 May God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ give you grace and peace. 4 I always thank my God for you and for the gracious gifts he has given you, now that you belong to Christ Jesus. 5 Through him, God has enriched your church in every way—with all of your eloquent words and all of your knowledge. 6 This confirms that what I told you about Christ is true. 7 Now you have every spiritual gift you need as you eagerly wait for the return of our Lord Jesus Christ. 8 He will keep you strong to the end so that you will be free from all blame on the day when our Lord Jesus Christ returns. 9 God will do this, for he is faithful to do what he says, and he has invited you into partnership with his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.

{1 Corinthians 1:3-9}

            I read those words very slowly. They were written by the Apostle Paul to a Christian Church in a mess! They had every kind of problem in that church that you could imagine. Most of Paul’s letter is to try to help guide them through some of these problems. But here in the beginning chapter, Paul is reminding them that they can make it through.

            Here is what he tells them:

1) You belong to Jesus Christ (1:4). Through Him God has blessed you in every way (1:5).

2) You have everything you need already to see you through until Jesus Christ returns for you (1:7).

3) Jesus in you will keep you strong to the end. You will make it to the finish line and when you do you will finish strong (1:8).

4) It is not dependent on you to get there. God will do it in you, through you, and for you (1:9a).

5) God is faithful and will do what God promises (1:9b).

6) God has invited us through faith to be partners with Jesus. This is one corporation that will never declare bankruptcy or go out of business (1:9c).

            When I finished reading this passage, I felt better. I was reminded that God is with us now, and always, and God is faithful, He will see us through the challenges we face, and we will finish strong.

No Responses to “Are We Going To Make It This Year?”

Leave a Reply

