Offer Them Christ
The Weblog Of J.F. Howard

Why I Tithe (Part 2)

           In the last installment I listed 5 reasons why I believe and practice tithing (returning 10 percent of what God provides back to the church to continue the work of God). I am convinced that this is still God’s accepted plan to resource the advancement of God’s kingdom and mission in our world. Those who obediently practice this spiritual discipline are declining to the point that I think the entire Christian mission is in danger.

            Only about one-third to one-half of U.S. church members even supports their churches financially at all. Of those who do, only 3% to 5% of those who support their church financially actually tithe (that is, give 10% of their finances).

            If all the members of the Christian church in the United States tithed, it would provide an additional $164 billion a year for ministry and mission.

            Do we really have that kind of money in the church? We sure do! On average, Americans spend $2.5 billion per year on world missions. We also spend $2.5 billion per year for chewing gum; $8 billion per year for movies; and $34 billion per year for state lotteries.

            Imagine what the church could do if more Christians followed the teaching of the Bible and tithed!

            I am glad that tithing has been part of my Christian faith since I was a teenager. The discipline of tithing is not only something that my wife and I practice, but something we have passed on to our children as well. I hope they will continue to practice tithing long after we are gone.

            To resume what I began with the last article, here are some more biblical reasons why I tithe:

 

6. I tithe because it is God’s plan to make sure His “house” is supplied.

{Malachi 3:10} Bring all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be food in My house.

 

7. I tithe because God promises those who do that He will abundantly bless them.

{Malachi 3:10} Bring all the tithes into the storehouse, That there may be food in My house, And try Me now in this,” Says the Lord of hosts, “If I will not open for you the windows of heaven And pour out for you such blessing that there will not be room enough to receive it.

 

8. I tithe because it is a tangible way to honor God for the many blessings I have received from God.

{Proverbs 3:9} Honor the Lord with your possessions, and with the firstfruits of all your increase.

 

9. I tithe because it helps me remember to keep God as first priority in life.

{Proverbs 3:9} Honor the Lord with your possessions, and with the firstfruits of all your increase.

 

10. I tithe because it serves as a reminder of where our hearts really are.

{Luke 12:34} For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

 

            Imagine what God could do in our world if more of God’s people tithed!

            Imagine what God would do in our lives if more of us experienced the blessing of tithing!

            I can’t even begin to imagine…can you?

No Responses to “Why I Tithe (Part 2)”

Leave a Reply

