Offer Them Christ
The Weblog Of J.F. Howard

Why I Tithe (Part 1)

            I was blessed to come to faith in Jesus Christ in a church that taught tithing (returning 10 percent of what God provides back to the church to continue the work of God). Because I was raised with a strong emphasis on the biblical teaching of tithing, it has been part of my Christian life since the very beginning.

            Statistics show that 6 percent of church members tithe. The average church member contributes 2.6 percent of their income to the church. During the heart of the Depression years (1933) church members gave on average 3.3 percent of their income to the church. The percentage of giving to the church is lower today than during the years of the Great Depression.

            Many people today are unfamiliar with this important indicator of our Christian faith. Many churches and pastors are hesitant to discuss matters of stewardship and giving for fear of being seen as “always begging for money.”

            But I was taught, and still believe, that how we manage our checkbook is just as accurate an indicator of the level of our faith, as how often we attend worship, or how regularly we read the Bible and pray.

            So for this article, and the one to follow, I would like to list some of the reasons why I tithe:

1. I tithe because the Bible teaches the tithe belongs to God and not to me.

{Leviticus 27:30, 32}  30 “A tithe of everything from the land, whether grain from the soil or fruit from the trees, belongs to the LORD; it is holy to the LORD…32 Every tithe of the herd and flock—every tenth animal that passes under the shepherd’s rod—will be holy to the LORD.”

 

2. I tithe because it is an expression of faithfulness to God.

{2 Chronicles 31:12a}  12 Then they faithfully brought in the contributions, tithes and dedicated gifts.

 

3. I tithe because it is an expression of generosity given in gratitude for all that God has given to me.

{2 Chronicles 31:5}  5 As soon as the order went out, the Israelites generously gave the firstfruits of their grain, new wine, oil and honey and all that the fields produced. They brought a great amount, a tithe of everything.

 

4. I tithe because it provides necessary support for the God’s work and for those who do God’s work.

{Numbers 18:21}  21 “I give to the Levites all the tithes in Israel as their inheritance in return for the work they do while serving at the tent of meeting.

 

5. I tithe because the Bible teaches not to do is to rob God.

{Malachi 3:8}  8 “Will a mere mortal rob God? Yet you rob me. “But you ask, ‘How are we robbing you?’ “In tithes and offerings.”

            I thank God that I began my walk with Jesus Christ in a church that taught me the biblical practice of tithing.

            I have been honored to participate with God to advance God’s work in our community, and around the world.

            God has done so much for me, it is a small commitment for me to do this for God.

            Don’t you feel the same way?

No Responses to “Why I Tithe (Part 1)”

Leave a Reply

