Offer Them Christ
The Weblog Of J.F. Howard

“M” Is For Mission

            Over time I get fuzzy.

            Does that happen to you?

            Over time my mind gets fuzzy over details of events, appointments I’ve made (if I don’t write it down, I won’t get there), even Bible passages that I have memorized. If I don’t review verses regularly, I’ll forget them.

            Sometimes I even get fuzzy when it comes to my mission as a Christ-follower. I can get busy with life, family, and the never-ending details of church administration, maintenance, and ministry that often I find my focus has gotten fuzzy. I can do so many things at times that it feels like I’ve really done nothing.

            I’m learning the importance of refocusing on what’s truly important to Christian ministry and mission. Like a car with an alignment problem, if I don’t keep the steering wheel pointed toward mission, life will pull it away toward other things (important and urgent, but not central).

            In a book entitled “Lost In America,” I saw a brief summary of the Christian mission that helps keep me in focus.

            I like to refer to it as “M Is For Mission:”

Mandate: “…in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.”

Genesis 12.3

[The Law]

 

Music: “Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples.”

Psalm 96:3

[The Psalms]

 

Moral obligation: “I will give you as a light to the nations, that my salvation may reach to the end of the earth.”

Isaiah 49:6

[The prophets]

 

Message: “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations.”

Matthew 28:18

[The gospels]

 

Method: “Now those who were scattered went from place to place, proclaiming the word.”

Acts 8:4

[Acts]

 

Mentoring: “Be imitators of me, as I am of Christ.”

1 Corinthians 11:1

[Paul’s letters]

 

Models: “Whoever says, ‘I abide in him,’ ought to walk just as he walked.”

1 John 2:6

[General letters]

 

Motivation: “…by your blood you ransomed for God saints from every tribe and language and people and nation…”

Revelation 5:9

[Revelation] 

            In the book “Lost In America,” the authors refer to this overall Scriptural emphasis as “one Bible, one mission.” From Genesis to Revelation, the message is clear and focused: God is on a mission to reach people far from God and to draw them close into a life transforming relationship with God.

            I’m committed to doing everything I can, to keeping myself and my ministry, focused on God’s mission for us as Christ-followers. Will you join me?

 

 

No Responses to ““M” Is For Mission”

Leave a Reply

