Offer Them Christ
The Weblog Of J.F. Howard

Think Before Speaking

            I don’t know about you, but I have said more than my share of words that I wish I could get back.

            And over the years I’ve heard and read my share of words that made me think, “I wonder how long it will be before that person regrets saying/writing that?”

            With the advent of the Internet and the ease of emails, instant messages, blogs(!) and that all to easy to get to “send” button, unhealthy communication has exploded.

            The Bible gives us wise counsel regarding healthy communication. Here are some questions (based on the clear teaching of Scripture) that will help us improve our communication by encouraging us to “think before we speak.”

 

1. Do I have the facts right?

“Spouting off before listening to the facts is both shameful and foolish.”

(Proverbs 18:13)

 

2. Is this important enough to talk about, or should I just over look it?

“Most important of all, continue to show deep love for each other,

for love covers a multitude of sins.”

(1 Peter 4:8)

 

3. Do I have the right attitude?

3 “And why worry about a speck in your friend’s eye when you have a log in your own? 4 How can you think of saying to your friend, ‘Let me help you get rid of that speck in your eye,’ when you can’t see past the log in your own eye? 5 Hypocrite! First get rid of the log in your own eye; then you will see well enough to deal with the speck in your friend’s eye.

(Matthew 7:3-5)

 

4. Is this the right time to discuss this topic?

“Everyone enjoys a fitting reply; it is wonderful to say the right thing at the right time!”

(Proverbs 15:23)

 

5. Are the words I am about to speak gentle and loving or harsh and hurting?

A gentle answer deflects anger, but harsh words make tempers flare.”
(Proverbs 15:1)

“…We will speak the truth in love, growing in every way more and more like Christ.”

(Ephesians 4:15)

 

6. Have I asked God for wisdom and guidance in this matter?

If you need wisdom, ask our generous God, and he will give it to you.”

(James 1:5)

            Good questions!

            Maybe they will help me to think before speaking!

            How about you?

No Responses to “Think Before Speaking”

Leave a Reply

